The Foundation

Message From the President Of The 
Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation


The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation, in partnership with the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council came together once again to organize one of The Bahamas' premier awards programs which salute the achievements of our primary school students. In November 1996, when I presented this idea to the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council for hosting of this awards scheme, I never would imagined the impact and the inspiration that this program would have provided to primary school students.

For the 20th consecutive year, we have targeted the BEST and BRIGHTEST minds to nationally recognize them for their achievements in academics, athletics, leadership and community service. I am excited to advise that since its inception, over 1,900 primary school students have been recognized and over $1 Million Dollars in scholarships and prizes given to motivate, encourage and inspire “OUR FUTURE”.

I believe that the The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Awards Program have remained committed to its mission of recognizing outstanding 6th grade students in the Bahamian Educational system regardless of colour, creed, family heritage, island representation, nationality or religious affiliation.

This program continues to evolve since our First Awards Program in June 1997; when 31 students representing all New Providence schools competed for trophies, certificates and prizes with NO SCHOLARSHIP DOLLARS to 2016, when 110 students representing Abaco, Andros, Bimini, Berry Island, Cat Island, Eleuthera, Exuma, Grand Bahama, Inagua, Long Island, Mayaguana, New Providence and San Salvador will compete for some $100,00.00 in scholarships and an additional $20,000.00 in prizes. This gallant effort made by a FEW DEDICATED volunteer Board of Directors and Awards Committee Members; corporate, civic, fraternal and individuals.

We are truly grateful to our educational partners – The Ministry and Department of Education; The Catholic Board of Education; The Anglican Central Educational Authority; The Baptist Education Mission and our Independent Schools who accepted our invitation to have their students nationally recognized for their achievements. We note that our invitation, on an annual basis, is extended to EACH and EVERY primary school in the country and we grateful to the 110 who have decided to showcase the talent that exist in our educational system. For your support, we are indeed grateful!!!!!

In 2007, I began a personal commitment that the Office of the President is excited to note that has continued. What started as my personal mission to locate our former nominees, led me to becoming a mentor, friend, “unofficial” school advisor, and “Facebook” paternal figure to hundreds of former nominees. It has been one of the greatest rewards to witness that our former nominees are still maintaining those high standards which candidates for this awards program while they were in primary school. I am excited that another group of former nominees are highlighted this year.

I would like to offer our commendations to the Hon. Jerome Fitzgerald, M.P. - Minister of Education, Science & Technology for his support of this awards program. He has truly been a tower of strength to our efforts. To our Co-Patrons – Dr. Davidson Hepburn and Mrs. Jacqueline Bethel, Thanks for your guidance and support. To our esteemed Chairman – Mr. N. Vandyke Pratt, Thanks for leading the Board of Directors during some of its greatest challenges and period of growth and development; To Mrs. Autherine Turnquest-Hanna, Chairperson and the DYNAMIC TEAM who comprise our Distinguished Panel of Judges, Thanks for your committed to review our nominee's packages and to make those critical decisions. Your support and service is truly appreciated and acknowledged. This year, we were sadden to lost a member of our Distinguished Panel in death, Mr. Lionel Elliott, Sr. and another has retired, Sister Mary Benedict Pratt. We are truly grateful for their services. To our Awards Committee Members, Thanks for once again accepting the challenge to work along with the Board of Directors. You are truly our backbone to the Awards Program. To our Corporate, Civic, Fraternal and Individual Donors, Thanks for partnering with The Foundation to reward and recognize excellence in this country. Thanks for making a difference in the life of a child.

Finally, CONGRATULATIONS to our 2016 Nominees. Your hard work over the past six years, have earned you spot on the stage which represent the BEST of the BEST in our Bahamian Educational System, your school, your Island and your District. Your presence in this Awards Program is indication that , 'YOU ARE A WINNER”. I would like to encourage you to continue to strive for excellence in your studies and extra-curricular pursuits in high school and beyond. We know that you are capable of achieving GREATER THINGS and this is just the beginning. I look forward to seeing you at the TOP!!!!!! Go forth and achieve all that you have been destined to achieve.


Ricardo P. Deveaux
President & CEO

Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation


























































































© Copyright 2016 Bahamas Primary School Student of The Year Foundation